Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Space Cowboys
A team of Air Force test pilots who were passed over for space flight the first time around is called out of retirement when a Russian satellite needs to be fixed, and only they know how to do the...  View more >

Starring Clint Eastwood, Tommy Lee Jones, James Garner...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 30, 2000
EXCELLENT Movie!

Great wit amongst Clint Eastwood and Tommy Lee Jones... Leaves you laughing in the aisles!

MUST SEE!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 8, 2000
Its Entertainment!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 13, 2000
This is a movie that has something for everyone. The movie has humor, special effects, emotion, suspense, treachery, and an "save-the-planet" plotline.
Unlike other science fiction movies made this year, this one is done with intelligence and finnesse. The effects are used to enhance the storyline, rather than being the storyline. I would say that this is the third best movie I have seen this year (behind Chicken Run and Gladiator).

This film is almost appropriate for the family, but there is some male nudity from the back (during a physical examination scene) and a few off-color comments (not much worse than you would see on TV). Overall, this was a great film that I would recommend for everyone.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Aug 20, 2000
Space cowboys...just the title should set you off. I mean, how can someone take these valuable people and make fun of them, calling them space cowboys. its not like a horse goes up there, this isnt noahs ark there are no animals going 2 by 2.

Astronauts are hard trained individuals who work hard to get where they want to go. i thought this was in poor taste.
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 24, 2000
A fun movie for almost all ages. I loved the chemistry between the actors and loved the theme of vindication.

That four men who worked hard to be the best flyers they knew how to be, but who were passed over due to the pettiness of one man and so never got into space, finally realized their dream.

It was funny, and poignant and thrilling. I recommend it highly.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 27, 2000
This movie brings together a quality cast that seemed to interact perfectly with each other and made this a movie with a believable story, wonderful writing, and an ending that made sense.

It was nice to see these super-stars playing parts more closely fitted to their age and, I've always thought, their intelligence. The effects are not overdone and appear far more realistic than has been recently seen too.

I would heartily recommend this movie to anyone.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Sep 17, 2000
this is the only movie i've ever seen in the theatre where i actually fell asleep.. and i'm not just talking about dozing off- i was asleep for at least an hour.

need i say more?
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Oct 24, 2000
When four ancient Air Force test pilots - played by Clint Eastwood, Tommy Lee Jones, James Garner, and Donald Sutherland - are called out of retirement, you can bet it’s for an assignment of astronomical proportions. Being washed out of the space program 40 years ago and replaced by a… chimpanzee with superior skills, they get a chance to fulfill a life long dream. They finally get to stand naked in front of a female doctor.

They may be old; they may be cantankerous; they may be ill tempered, but at least they’re wrinkled. And they’re determined. All they need is a little space. Yes, NASA is about to give them all the space they can stand.

If they make the grade, they get a free ride into space on that flying brick known as the Space Shuttle to repair a defective Russian communication satellite. This satellite, powered by an antique operating system our heroes invented back in the Stone Age of satellites, is about to fall out of the sky. If our plucky Stone Age space jockeys can’t fix this hunk of junk, so we’re told, it will plunge to Earth and wipe out the entire Russian communication system. Of course, this will plunge our conniving Communist comrades back into their own Stone Age, so we must help them. Yeah, right.

How do you go about accomplishing a mission of this magnitude? First, you steal some scenes from The Magnificent 7, then you steal some scenes from Apollo 7, and then you steal some Geritol from the 7-Eleven. But, no matter how you slice and dice it, these four crusty old astro-nuts steal the show.

This movie is liberally peppered with sharp, witty dialog; charming, likable leading characters, and a memorable supporting cast. In fact, you begin to care about these people almost immediately.

The first half of the movie gives you that warm, fuzzy feeling. You grin a lot, you laugh a lot, and you sit back and enjoy the show. You get to know the characters and get comfortable with their unique personalities.

But there is a big surprise waiting in space. Things start to get rough. The rug is pulled from under your nice comfortable chair, and you’re dumped on the floor. When you get up, you find yourself sitting on the edge of your seat. And that’s where you stay until the very end, when what’s left of our heroic space cowboys and their flying brick of a Space Shuttle try to negotiate a 200 knots landing with William Devane standing helpless at the control panel. Get it?

This is a “must see” movie staring some of your old favorites. I give it an A-.

Dixie says: I haven’t been mooned by 4 geriatric space cadets since I was in college… Not all at one time, anyway. Everyone appeared so old. Donald Sutherland looked like he really had false teeth. And all those wrinkles looked so lifelike. The make-up guys really did a great job, even on James Garner’s hair – it looked so thin. And Clint Eastwood may be getting older, but he still knows how to make my day. I love all those guys, so I give it an A+.
Jul 21, 2003
Feb 21, 2006
"Space cowboys" is Clint Eastwood's meassage that you can never get too old to do anything. The film has four veteran actors, Along with Eastwood, there's Tommy Lee Jones, James Gerner and Donald Sutherland all putting in 160 years of film experience right into this movie. Watching the four going though space training is the fun part of this movie.
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Space Cowboys.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook