Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Star Trek: Insurrection
Picard goes Kirk and violates not only orders but the Prime Directive as well in dealing with a planet's inhabitants who have found a fountain of youth.

Starring Patrick Stewart, Jonathan Frakes, Brent Spiner...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
SEE NOW

In other words...I loved it!!!! My non-Trekker friends that I dragged to the thing even enjoyed it. Go see this movie and you'll thank yourself that you did.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Star Trek Insurrection, the 9th trek film scores top reviews by me. One word describes this film. AWESOME! The story line is simple enough, Captain Jean Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart) must disobey an Admiral to protect a race of people called the Ba'ku. The Ba'ku live on a planet, whose rings regenerate their genetic structure, making them immortal. Picard befriends a Ba'ku woman, and developes a relationship with her. Riker and Troi also get a new start on their relationship.This film, in my opinion gives First Contact a run for First Place among the 9 trek films there are. My recommondation, SEE IT NOW!!!! I loved it...and plan to see it many more times!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It's a "must-see"!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Very good movie. The crew of the Enterprise is back again this time they are fighting to preserve the Prime Directive against the will of their superior. This movie is also making a sociological statement with regards to when one society forces a group of people from their homeland. For example, native Americans and the European settlers. All in all this movie was fun and exciting to watch.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
After reading all of the negative press about Insurrection, I was ready to think that this would be the worst pile of sci-fi nonsense ever shown on screen. Well, it's not. In fact, I found it to be a lot of fun and never found myself (or anyone else in the theater) groaning at any stupid or ridiculous sub-plots.

Berardinelli's review of the movie seems right on. This is not another First Contact space battle movie, although it does have some really good battle scenes featuring the spectacular Enterprise-E. Many lines are played for humor, but it doesn't get in the way of the story. There are even some well-done romantic scenes which show that Frakes can direct more than just the "macho" action stuff.

Insurrection is a bit more of a morality story, which I found refreshing compared with First Contact's "Borgs are Bad" single-mindedness. I also disagree with Berardinelli about F. Murray Abraham's performance - I thought he played the bitter soul pretty well.

The only thing I could say that might be disappointing is that there was not much originality to the film. Much of the story and its various subplots have been explored and tried before in Next Generation episodes, so not much new ground has been covered in the new movie. Still, if you're looking for a good story and aren't bored by an occasional romantic scene or two, you might find Insurrection to be better than you've heard.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Star Trek: Insurrection, the nineth movie in the series, livs up to what most Trekies would want it to be.....just just barely. There's action, romance, adventure, suspense, mystery, and action. Troy and Riker finally get to do what we have all thought would happen, the rebirth of their love for each other. Interfederation conflict, intermixed with romance brings a new plateau to the series. The downfall of the movie is that the plot seemed a little weak. There was plenty of action and everything else that we would all expect for a "true" Star Trek movie, however, if this was the first Star Trek movie that a person had seen, they would have been lost. I watched it the Saturday night after it's release, with a group of about 200, mostly adults. There were many moments that the crowd just burst out in laughter, some becasue of Data, but, you'll have to see the movie to learn why. I'd give the movie 3 of 4 stars. It's worth seeing in the theater, but, not the best one of the series by a long shot. I base the best one off of either ST2 or ST First Contact.

Jan 25, 2000
Well, you know what they say about Star Trek movies....The even numbered onesare better than the odd numbered ones. Star Trek: Insurrection is the 9th film in the long running Star Trek series. Even though it is an odd-numbered film, I thought it was pretty good. Not the best film of the series, but certainly not the worst one either.

Most of the Star Trek: The Next Generation cast has returned for this installment. No sign of Colm Meaney (O'Brien) again.

I am not going to sit here and talk about the story line, etc... All I'm going to say is I thought that the dialog was corny, and that they needed more action scenes.

Once again Data steals the show, Picard gets his hands dirty, and everyone else is just fluff. I would be interested in seeing what ended up on the cutting room floor.

Overall, this movie falls right down the middle of the road. A little too much time spent on the planet, and not enough time spent engaged in space battles. (grin)

Copyright 1998 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was certainly the best of the Next Generation movies in my opinion. I was absolutely caught up in the movie. It was a thrill ride, it took us where noone has gone before. It had the bold ingenuity to invent two new races at odds with each other over paradise. Putting our main characters in the thick of it with a great segue using Data(my personal favorite character of this crew). There were certainly a vast array of comedic moments that were side splitting. As expected the involved Data, but to my surprise Worf had a couple of moments as well. One of the more inspiring moments was when LaForge saw his first sunrise. It was incredible. This movie was more, much more than any critic gave it credit to be. it was a journey more than worth the money you spend for the ticket to get in.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Of all the Star Trek Movies I have seen, this one ranks close to the top. I liked First Contact a bit more, but I am a action buff. Insurrection does take a strong second place for me though. It was quite comical. Berman and co. are exploring Data in some very interesting was that make me laugh just thinking about them. They also do a good job at bringing Worf back for another movie with the Next Gen. Crew. This movie shows very good on the big screen, and the sound makes good use of the theaters AC-3 system.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Another film worthy of the Star Trek name. I never used to be a Trekkie, however when they can combine this kind of Sci-Fi, action, romance and HUMOR, something good is sure to happen.

Worth every penny.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I went with my wife and her friend & husband. We 30-somethings all enjoyed it. We would have to rate this behind "First Contact" but ahead of "Generations". The villian didn't seem all that "evil", which was disappointing. The Enterprise E crew were exactly as you would expect, which is what you want from a Star Trek crew.

The direction of Jonathan Frakes is excellent. He has been doing a good job of honing his skills with DS9 & Voyager.

We saw this at a stadium seat theater, but I would advise seeing it at a cheaper theater.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
My wife and I have been Trekkies since day one and have followed all the different iterations. Of all the movies, this is one of the weakest as movies go. This would be an excellent TV episode. However, being forever faithful, it is worth seeing on the big screen.

Make it so.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I enjoyed the movie, but I found it to be a bit lacking in the suspense department. I was never really very worried about the villian in this picture. Unlike First Contact where I was cringing in my seat as the Borg slowly took over the Enterprise and Picard was practicing his Captain Ahab routine. This one just kinda rolled along and lacked some punch.

The Troi/Riker involvement was interesting but VERY short (along with the whole movie.) Certainly with only 1hr and 45 mins of film - we could have spent another 5 minutes or so on their re-found relationship. (why was this movie so short?)

The effects are top-notch as you would expect. This will be a "trekkers only" movie however. People who don't follow the series won't be very interested in it. It has no mass appeal. The humor was good but sporadic. Still it is worth seeing on the big screen for the great space battle scenes. I will probably see it one more time in the theatre, but it wasn't as good as First Contact.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I have to rate this between good and wait for rental actually. More or less it's just a good episode again. Good humor, pretty good story, great effects and of course strong characters (though the bad guys needed to be a bit badder). If you are a die hard trekkie of course go see it. If not, you might want to scan the listings for something else, but it's surely not a flop.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The curse of the odd-numbered Treks strikes again! The plot of this movie was weak, the humor was superficial and forced, the special effects fueled some of the stupidest moments in Trek history, and the only strong points of this movie were ideas lifted directly from previous episodes of the TV series, like holodeck/transporter trickery and the movie's theme. Yet the series did a much better job of presenting them, and at a more mature level.

I can't think of one detail of this movie that wasn't either cliche, copied, or completely ridiculous. If Paramount chooses to waste their brilliant ST:TNG ensemble on such an ill-concieved picture, I'll soon be an ex-trekker!

If it has an exact opposite, then I hope that will be Star Trek X! Enough with whiney mad-scientist villians, silly made-up aliens, and magical "Nexus'" or "Briar Patches." I hope they put some thought into the next one, hire decent writers who understand the material, and trying to crush each movie into a little Hollywood nugget.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I was really looking forward to this movie as I really like Star Trek. I was mildly disappointed as I was expecting more in the way of a story...They need to come up with some new twists to hold the interest of people who like Star Trek. Story just O.K. but you need to see this on a big screen..Good but not Great.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A friend told me this Star Trek was much different than the others, so I went. It is not. The Enterprise tries to keep a civilization which has discovered the proverbial fountain of youth free from exploitation. The bad guys are awful bad guys as usual in this series. And the Captain always falls in love with somebody who he has to leave. Once Star Wars emerged, Star Trek should have been quietly on the shelf.

Jan 25, 2000
This latest installment of the mostly successful Star Trek franchise is better than the first ST:TNG casted film, Generations, but not as good as the previous film, First Contact. The regular cast members are back, and quite a bit more relaxed than in either of the films or any series episode, probably to a fault.

Nothing about this film was striking, original, or theatrical. Holodecks, near-utopian societies disturbed by technology, and other ideas and scenes that we've seen before result in a good film, but not a great one.

It seemed that this might have been a much longer movie, that explained Riker's and Troi's newly rekindled interest, and provided more space battle scenes, and actually gave Anthony Zerbe a chance to act. (Are all Starfleet Admirals corrupt??)

I mentioned the relaxed atmosphere of the cast members in this movie, it was hard to miss. Everyone was joking around with each other, and some scenes existed purely for the humor factor, resulting in a few forced "skits" that didn't quite work as well as they could have. Data was as good as ever, there was too much Picard, again, and the Starfleet women were reduced to largely stereotypical roles.

Could this movie be seen and enjoyed at home just as easily as in the theater? Probably. Is it worth seeing in the theater? If you're a Star Trek fan, and must see it before it hits video or Pay-per-View, sure. Otherwise, wait for it to be available in the comfort of your own home, have a #8 and #9 double feature movie night, and save yourself quite a few bucks on tickets and concessions.

In spite of these things, Insurrection is a good film, and will not disappoint fans of the genre and those looking for an enjoyable movie with a mix of humor and some action.

This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright 1998. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I had heard that it was the worse of the nine ST movies. Actually, I thought that the first one was terrible, drudging along, forever in an endless cloud. Anyway, Insurrection was very enjoyable. Special effects were very good, more than just a bunch of stars. However, the battle scene was weak. The Enterprise should have had more going for it. At least the old crew stayed in retirement. Overall, I feel that it was put together in a bit of a hurry, but much better than expected. Any Trekie should enjoy!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I THINK THEY WERE TRYING TO USE A JEDI MIND TRICK. It was nearly two years ago when I receive a letter from the city explaining how bad they felt about making me wake up twice a week to put out the garbage. They were so concerned, in fact, they were only going to have one trash day a week from now on, as a special favor to me. Like it isn't enough that they're doing half the work for the same price, or that they charge me extra if I have more than one can of trash per week, but then THEY TRY TO MAKE ME THINK IT WAS A GOOD THING!!!-That's just flat out insulting. Sorry, I flashed back to that while thinking of when they made the announcement that the Star Trek: The Next Generation series was leaving the air to make feature films. "Great!" I thought,"Now they'll charge us $7 and make us wait two years to see what we used to see every week . . . for free!" Okay, so I maybe I'm being a little too cynical. I suppose it is a bit much to compare a Star Trek movie to garbage . . .Unless, it's an odd numbered one.

Captain Picard's effort to save Lt. Commander Data leads him to the Ba'ku planet, where the Federation and their Son'a allies are conducting a cultural survey. Picard learns that the survey is only a cover for a plot to kidnap the Ba'ku en masse and exile them from their world. Ru'afo (F. Murray Abraham), the Son'a leader, has discovered that the planet is bathed in metaphasic radiation that reverses aging. Picard has to confront his superior officer, Admiral Dougherty (Anthony Zerbe)with what he has learned . . . only to find that Dougherty and the top leaders of the Federation are part of the scheme. For Jean-Luc Picard, it is the time of decision. If he obeys Dougherty's order, he would violate the principles of his Starfleet oath. Instead, he takes action. The battle for Paradise has just begun! ... STAR TREK: INSURRECTION is directed by Jonathan Frakes who did a superb job with my favorite Star Trek movie, FIRST CONTACT. It stars the usual cast for characters performing the same shtick they've been doing for the past decade.

"...No, the last thing my father said to me was: Stocks may rise and fall, modes of transportation deteriorate, people are no damn good . . .but they'll always need land and they'll pay through the nose to get it." _ Gene Hackman as Lex Luthor

As the husband of one of the best real estate agents in the state of Texas, I can assure that the elder Luthor's statement is right on the money. I imagine that if he were alive today his addendum would be: "...and you can't always count the odd numbered STAR TREK movies to suck."

WHAT'S GOOD: I'm afraid not much. While this movie isn't as bad as STAR TREK 5: THE FINAL FRONTIER, it is less memorable.

WHAT'S BAD: Where do I begin? The story, which would be too simple for a comic book that comes free with a Pizza Hut kid's meal? The cheap sets that looked like remnants of a PLANET OF THE APES off-Broadway play? The total lack of suspense or character development? INSURRECTION is bloodless, spiritless and has a villain no more threatening than John Astin when he filled in for Frank Gorshin as the Riddler. It feels like it was solely contrived just to get “the ol’ gang” back together again and give Jean Luc Picard another reason to voice his righteous indignation. And what’s the deal with never letting Picard have physical contact with the women he falls for . . . OH, THAT REMINDS ME: For those of you anxiously awaiting the scene where Troi and Riker share a bath, I’m sorry to report to you that they remain immersed from the necks down. Actually, I’m only half sorry. Considering how much Jonathan Frakes is resembling Raymond Burr these days, I’d say that goes on the GOOD list.

OVERALL: This movie realizes all of my fears. Like the X-FILES movie, it’s basically a two-hour tv episode . . . and not even one of the good episodes. By the end everything is exactly as it began and nothing is added to the Star Trek continuity. Honestly, though, not all of the odd-numbered Star Trek’s suck (5:THE FINAL FRONTIER). Sometimes they’re boring (3:THE SEARCH FOR SPOCK) or just goofy (7:GENERATIONS). 9:INSURRECTION just happens to be all three.

Not too bad if you look at it as a kid’s movie, though.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I just got back from the theater. This movie is not a "nailbiter" but then what Star Trek movie is? This one has it all, comedy, romance, and action galore. The plot has been discussed a lot here so I won't got into it again, all I have to say is that Picard and Company are again at the top of their form, moments will bring you close to tears and seconds later will have you rolling in the aisles.Go see this movie, if you want a rich Trek experience.

Oh I almost forgot, there was an older couple leaving the theater at the same time I was, and I heard them both say to each other that this was the best movie they'd seen. A little over the top maybe, but I have to say that this is the best movie I've seen in a LOOONNNGGG time. See Star Trek Insurrection, you will not be disappointed.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Another Star Trek, another bareable watch. good, but not great, fun but not the kind of film you would -- to use a British phrase -- 'bust a gut to see'. It's just opened here in the UK, feedback is good, I liked it, but only just.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A terrible waste of the rich Star Trek world and characters. The plot was weak, the effects were rudimentary and the cast were on autopilot. It felt like there was a clause in each of the main ST:TNG crew member's contract that they had to have some small sub-plot in the film (with maybe the exception of Crusher); Jordi's eyesight returns! Data learns what it is to be a child! Worf reachespuberty! Troi and Ryker start to rekindle their romance! etc.

The humour element didn't sit well with me either. Whilst it worked in ST4 very well with Kirk and Co, it just didn't suit Picard and the rest trying to be witty. There is a section early on in the film where Picard and Data sing and it just made me want to hide my head under my coat in embarrassment. I'm not against trying to inject a few laughs into the proceedings but in this film's case, it was all a bit strained like Frakes was trying too hard whilst directing.

What really disappointed me were the effects. I was all prepared for a rather lame, sub-TV plot so long as the action and effects kept flowing but they were disappointing. I saw Stargate on TV the other day and the effects in Insurrection were substandard to this old film. The pure-CGI scenes (i.e, the Enterprise in space) were up to scratch but unspectacular...there are only so many times I can get excited at seeing the Enterprise orbit a planet. However, the scenes on the planet which mixed live action and CGI were just lame. They didn't integrate a lot of the effects into the live action well at all. It all looked very "Made for TV".

Even so, I'll probably still shell out and go and see Star Trek X, First Contact was good enough to keep me interested in the series despite this turkey. The film series really does need a new perspective, though, I'm getting slightly bored with the characters and the lack of development they have received since the transition from TV to screen. There's only so much you can do with 7 main characters in one bi-annual two hour film as opposed to 22 show per year.

Fans of the series: wait for video (for completeness sake, you'll want to see it). Everyone else: Stay away.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Compared to the rest of the Star Trek series movies, this one moves slowly and delves too much on Picard and Data once again. We could use more story lines about other characters.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was hilarious! Much much better than Generations, and wittier than First Contact. The special effects may not have been there, but it just shows what a talented cast Star Trek has that they don't have to hide behind the special effects crew. It was clever, funny, original, and best of all...SHORT. A nice change of pace from some of the 3 hour documentaries that are coming out in theaters these days. See it soon, if you already haven't. And if you have, why not see it again!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm the kind of guy that loved the movie Star Trek First Contact. It was a swing for the star trek series that I thought it needed...more action...This movie had some action but not as much... but still a very visual impressive movie, and really worth the budget price if you're into star trek

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm not a Trekkie. I think the original Star Trek series is some of the cheesiest, stupidest stuff ever broadcast. The original crew made some good movies, along with some (to quote the ditz in the Psychic Hotline commerical) "sucky" ones. "Star Trek: The Next Generation" was a great show, once they got past the first two seasons.

Now we come to the "Next Generation" films. "Generations" was painfully mediocre, and even worse when pulled off the big screen. "First Contact" was a slam-bang action flick, a return to form for the franchise. Where does "Star Trek: Insurrection" fall? Somewhere in between.

Jonathan Frakes has signed on to direct what is, I think, "Star Trek 9." Most have heard the general rule: Odd-numbered Star Treks bad, even-numbered Star Treks good. Nine is an odd number, so is "Insurrection" bad? No. Frakes has bucked the trend by directing this film with a tounge-in-cheek manner, so that it avoids becoming tiresome.

The story, admittedly, is weak: The Enterprise is ordered by the Federation to assist with the colonization of a planet that holds some kind of "anti-aging" power. Another race which is fast growing too old for their skins (literally) wants to live there and kick the other people out. Not surprisingly, Picard and crew find out about this plan and (you'll never believe this) DISOBEY ORDERS and decide to help the planet's inhabitants instead.

All of the Trek crew give solid performances, as usual. Patrick Stewart is his usual commanding self, and F. Murray Abraham is good (and unrecognizable) as the leader of the bad-guy aliens.

This premise seems like a lot of politically correct, ecological nonsense, and it is. The film is executed well, however, and kept afloat by its willingness to make fun of itself. It begins with Picard being forced to take part in an alien ritual that seems silly to him, but is deeply sacred to the aliens. Many other elements generate good-natured laughs. Worf has a zit! Not just any zit, but a huge Kingon zit, while at one point Riker actually controlls the Enterprise with a joystick. (That's right, a joystick!)

This is not the best Star Trek flick out there, but it's an enjoyable ride, with plenty of heart-pounding action scenes to keep you interested. I particulary enjoyed Picard's pseudo-romance with one of the women on the planet. No, it's not a sexual relationship, it's much healthier than that, and something Kirk could never have done in a million light-years.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I am not a Star Trek fan.

* 1/2 stars

Jun 4, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Star Trek: Insurrection.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2018, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook