Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Star Trek: Nemesis
Longtime enemies of the Federation, the Romulans have expressed their desire to initiate negotiations that will hopefully lead to a long-awaited unity in the galaxy. But upon the arrival of the...  View more >

Starring Patrick Stewart, Jonathan Frakes, Brent Spiner...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 13, 2002
As I begin this, less than 30 minutes have passed since the first showing has completed. I have, over time, found that we all have "friends" that we can care about. The same is true of the crew of the starship Enterprise. Since the Enterprise-D first took over the screens of televisions in 1987, 15 years have passed. These members of the crew, have become like family that one does not get to see on a regular basis, but are loved just as much.

The amazing part of all this is simple... You care for them.

The tradition continues....

What makes this so amazing, is that you see a progression of each individual character. That is if you haven't missed any episodes, and you pay attention.
The simple fact, that you can cover a wide range of emotions as well. Laughter, fear, tears, shock, total amazement. Sometimes laughing until you cry. And of course, everyone has their favorites.

The story, written by cast member Brent Spiner and a pair of others, brings out some of the best bits of humor that Spiner's character, Data, has had stretching back to "Encounter At Farpoint", the Next Generation's first episode. Simple, but highly amusing. As it always has been.

The action sequences can be called amazing. And highly unexpected. The greatest part, is not knowing which way the story will go. I've seen almost every episode and have seen all of the films with the Next Generation crew. I've learned to anticipate some of the actions that the crew will take. This time out, it's like flying by the seat of your pants.

The telling of this tale of the crew of the Enterprise is well worth seeing. For those that have been there from the beginning, but even more so, for those who want to know what all the fuss is about. When the screen goes dark, after the credits have finished, you may want to go back to the beginning, to understand why the things that you've seen mean so much.

There has been talk that this will be the last film for the crew of the Enterprise-D & E. Hopefully, this is not to be their last mission.
Dec 15, 2002
I thought it was a pretty good Trek movie. It definitely had a lot of action, and you see some character development with the Next Gen crowd. The last thirty minutes of the movie feels like five minutes! Lots of action and since it's the last movie - you aren't sure what will really happen....

It wasn't the best one of the ten - but I would put it in the top 3... Somewhere between First Contact and Wrath of Khan.
Dec 15, 2002
What's good: except for the typically cheesy alien costuming, this film is state of the art technical perfection. "Moving" make up and special effects, stills and sets (except for the "enemy bridge" which is inexplicably flat, cavernous and with strange, do-nothing lights giving the effect of a stagey throne room), interior and exterior ship scenes, fights and flights are all excellent and worth seeing theater-sized if you've got the bucks and tolerance for a "johnny one note" story line. Which brings us to what's bad, which is everything else.

I read someplace that they waited on producing this one, last Generation flick until they found the right script. In my humble opinion, once they found it, they kept the right script hidden and filmed this one instead. My toddler could have drawn cardboard pictures of Riker, Troi, Worf, Geordi and Beverly Crusher, pasted them on popsicle sticks and danced them around like crude puppets for as much real character development as this script allowed the actors.

The movie is all about unrestrained Picard pomposity unpalatably and unaccountably doubled and served up as story line ("We have seen the enemy and he is us"). Attempting to provide a kinder and gentler foil for the Picard angst, the android subplot is way too obvious from early on. As for the Riker/Troi relationship, my question jumps outside the box for a moment: if sexual voyeurism is so wrong that the bad guys do it, why must the movie makers subject us to it?

Finally, from the Give me a Break Department: How un-Federation is it for Picard (of all people--especially after Insurrection) to come floating in UFO-style then go joyriding in some pre-warp flight civilization's back yard? (If "city slickers" came rattling up my south 40, I'd be shooting too.) One suggestion for Riker: next time he's playing hide and seek with a guy from a dark planet, he should simply turn on the lights and blind him. End of story.
Dec 16, 2002
Star Trek Nemesis should be see at the big screen to be thoroughly enjoyed for it's special effects. I enjoyed this movie although I wish it had more space travel scenes, possibly some scenes on other planets. It left me wanting more.

I loved all the actors as well as the storyline. Interesting idea! There was a shock near the end but I kind of thought it might happen. You'll see what I mean when you view this latest Star Trek movie.
Dec 23, 2002
"Star Trek:Nemesis," is least favorite of the ten Star Trek movies which began in 1979. (Actually the 10th film tied with the 7th "Generation" as the only two films that I didn't like) This is the fourth movie which featured the Next Generation under the command of Picard.

This is a dull movie with a boring villian, who didn't do much but theatening the Enterprise with boring dialogue. The only real surprise in the film is the appreance of Kate Mulgrew as Captain Kathryn Janeway from "Star Trek:Voyager," but I'm holding out for Seven of Nine.
Dec 27, 2002
Better than any odd numbered Trek movie. Also better than 4. I suspect this film will hold up well under repeat viewings. Definitely worth seeing on the big screen.
Dec 27, 2002
Stinker.

Clearly the only person who could love this film is a tried and true Trek-head.

The plot was boring. It was a take off of the evil twin theme, only they used it twice in one film, which should tell you something.

After the Borg, this just seemed tame.
Feb 10, 2003
The weakest of the "Next Generation" movies, but "Generations" comes pretty close.

The movies have always had a knack for self-parody, but there are a few too many instances of tongue-in-cheek dialogue for my taste. Probably the best thing I can say about the movie is that there were some technical glitches with the presentation, and I received a refund of the ticket price. That left my time as the only investment I made, and it was worth that much, but not much more than that.

If the next movie stars the cast of Star Trek: Voyager this could possibly be the last of the movie series I see. Not exactly a great exit, in my opinion.
Feb 15, 2003
You really need to see this in the cinema, the crew is at their lovable best. As good as the Borg movie and it\'s great to finally see a match with the Romulans. You just have to see it to appreciate it. People can say what they want, but it is sci-fi, not a real story, it is fiction and well written.
Feb 24, 2003
Feb 25, 2003
Yep, I saw it, and, yup, I agree - only a Trek fan would like it.

I have seen better, but I have also seen alot worse. But as a trek fan starving for anything trek - it is my only choice. Pretty much it was an episode of Next Generation.
Jun 4, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Star Trek: Nemesis.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2020, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook