Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Three Kings
A band of Gulf War soldiers go into Iraq after the war. They think Iraq is littered with the cell phones, luxury cars and booty stolen from rich Kuwait, and they want to steal something for...  View more >

Starring George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Ice Cube...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is sort of like a Gulf War version of Kelly's Heroes. Dark Humor, cool graphics.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Best movie of the year. The entire cast is incredible especially George Clooney. Mr. Clooney gives the best performance of his life in this movie-he is definitely Oscar material! This movie will prove that he can successfully make the transition from TV to the big screen.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I liked it. Three Kings is definitely a unique movie. Lets go with the basic premise...the United States is just completing its role in the Gulf War and Iraq has withdrawn from Kuwait. Four soldiers, with the help of some "behind the scenes" manuevering, come across a map to the gold that Iraq has taken from Kuwait. These soldiers, George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Ice Cube, and Spike Jonze, go into Iraq to get the stolen gold. Along the way they face various hurdles, including the unwanted involvement of a nosey reporter, Nora Dunn. This film breaks new ground and this new ground has raised some controversy. In one of the scenes, Clooney describes what a bullet does to a human body, and while he describes it the scene on the screen shows it in detail. Why the controversy? They use a real cadaver. I guess this is a new way to break into the movies for some. The scene while gross, does show what damage a bullet does in a very educational manner. The scenes in this film are as unique as the storyline. You are literally shocked a few times when a specific action scene takes place...so shocked you won't see the scene on a trailer. This is probably the first time all the best movie scenes will never make it into the trailer. Clooney is great as the leader of this group, Ice Cube is as cool as one can be, Mark Wahlberg continues to show the skills of a great actor, but the most surprising performance is put on by Spike Jonze, who you truly can hate as an individual but yet understand why he acts the way he does. One of the most heard comments about this film is that the audience has to make it through the first 20 minutes and after that you are hooked. Three Kings is a film like no other....it has a single small comparison to "Kelly's Heroes" with Clint Eastwood, in the fact that soldiers look for gold, but that's it. Bottom line...while some question how much of a war was the Gulf War...this film shows that even a little is still too much.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'd been disappointed with the last 3 movies I'd seen.....until now. WOW Three Kings was not only well written, but the directing, outstanding!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie was one of the best movies I've seen this year. The only thing it could have done without is the gore that was in it, yet that was only brief. For the 1st time since The Big Hit Marky Mark is shown in a extremely noteworthy film. Ice Cube and George Clooney also put through extremely great performances.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was pointless. I had high expectations, but it wasn't funny, or dramatic, or suspensful. It was just a bad movie!

If you want a good movie along the same lines, go rent Kelly's heros.

I almost rated this STAY AWAY, but I guess it would be worth a cheep rental.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Three Kings is a great movie. George Clooney did a woonderful job and should be given more credit for his work. If you have not seen the movie yet go see it and if you have already seen it see it again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
As a Gulf war veteran myself, who experienced first-hand many of the same elements contained in the film, I found the film to be quite interesting, and extremely well researched. Much of what I am talking about, however, will be missed by a "casual" viewer of the film. References made by the characters to boredom and regret at "missing all the action" are right on target. Why also are mere civil affairs soldiers from an Army reserve unit so well armed? Where DID all those pistols come from? Much of what happened over there was not widely reported, or was lost in the bigger picture of the actual combat and the "liberation of Kuwait". The torture scene was actually a clever device to illuminate the undercurrent of the movie regarding the uprising staged by anti - Saddam Hussein population groups in Iraq after the 100 - hour ground offensive, an uprising encouraged by the United States, which then denied them any support and left them without hope, easy targets for Saddam's republican guards. Three Kings is acceptable as an action movie. However, the attempt to re-create the entire "gulf war experience" in a 2 hour movie will be missed by viewers who do not have a proper frame of reference. That's too bad - I recommend the film, but do yourself a favor - treat a friend who was there. They will be able to fill in the holes for you, and explain the mountain of symbolism in the film.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was a very well done movie, George Clooney's best and with good support from Mark Wahlberg and Ice Cube, together the trio is the Three Kings. The trio have a plan to steal Kuwaiti gold stolen by Iraq during the Gulf war, along the way they run into many troubles which bring forth some deeper meanings and messages regarding human compassion, life, and what was the real purpose of the war, to liberate Kuwait or protect our oil interests? Has some good humor mixed in as well. The first time I watched it I was moved emotionally with some of the scenes and messages, the second time I picked up much more on the humor and in fact the audience laughed out loud. Watched it both times at the Ultrascreen, go there if it's still on that screen, it's worth the trip!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I'm always amazed when I read a comment, or review of a war movie, that complains about the gore, or pain and suffering shown in it. Its a war film, that is why it has violence, destruction, death and injury shown.

Three Kings, a recent movie that claims the Gulf War as its basis, is a war movie. If you go to see this film, you will see explosions, injuries, gore and death. Without it, it would not be a war film. Don't be surprised.

Having said that, be aware that this film has a link to the original M*A*S*H movie of the early 70s. It is full of black humor, insights as to why people do what they do in war, the impact that war has on people, and even moments of humor that will cause you to laugh (and then feel guilty). Injury and death are shown honestly. Violence is in its proper place, and surprising when it happens, not added just for effect and shock. War is not fun.

The film is well shot, with terrific landscapes and a sense of what the terrain looks like in the southern Iraqi area. The politics shown are not friendly to George Bush and the Americans, but real (even if some may not enjoy hearing the truth). The characters are detailed enough to make you care, and several strong performances carry you into believing.

The action is realistic, and other than the helicopters (should have been Blackhawks), all equipment, uniforms and weapons were part of the war. I particularly liked the T72 tank.

The minor sex scene at the start of the movie has no bearing, or importance to the film (I am not sure why it was included other than to show George C has the "right" stuff). The links to the war being about money are funny, and very sad (the blue jeans, the cell telephones, the TVs, the cars, the gold, the oil, etc.). The most unique moment in the film may be when the US soldier uses a cell telephone (is it a small world, or what?). The journey of the US soldiers, and the understanding you gain of their growth as characters, and the people they touch in the film is the purpose for seeing this film. It is not the action, not the humor or fear caused in you as the viewer, but the distance you will travel as you begin the film with one set of expectations, and discover that you have finished the film with a differing grasp of understanding man, and his nature (as shown in the film).

Highly recommend to adults who want to see a film with a message. The kids and those with no imaginations should stay home and watch TV.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Disappointing and stupid....

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I had very high hopes for this movie. I had heard many good things about it including that the acting was great. Well, the acting was not great, in fact, it was rather bad. Clooney should have never left TV. In addition to bad acting, the plot was stupid and pointless. I didn't care about the charaters at all. One thing that can often save a movie is some good jokes; however, this movie isn't even funny. It failed in every category. I thought about giving this movie a "stay away", but if you're bored some night it may be worth the rental.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was good. It was not a brilliant piece of theatre that would constitute a musuem. It did kinda drag after a bit, and there it seemed to tug on emotions more than you would think. But i went in to see violence on the big screen and i ended up seeing an interesting movie questioning some interesting...well questions. Marky wark was actually almost touching but then again he touched us all as Dirk Diggler, one of the finest roles ever. This movie begins with a band and seems to kind of be predictable with something almost begging to be used later in a movie. It is a good movie and thought it seems to drag and the 2 hours seem more like 4 it is a good movie and the constant motion keeps you interested. Do your homework on the time and war and u will get a lot more out of this. WEll happy viewing!!

May 21, 2003
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Three Kings.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook