Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
What Lies Beneath
A husband and wife are haunted by mysterious voices and sights of a young woman's wraithlike image in their home. However, as Claire moves closer to the truth about her husband's past affair and its...  View more >

Starring Harrison Ford, Michelle Pfeiffer, Amber Valletta...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 21, 2000
This was such a good movie! Harrison Ford in the type of role I haven't seen him in before, and done very well. And Michelle Pfeiffer - always good in anything she does as well.

It has mystery, suspense, a little supernatural element, and even some humor!

See it as soon as you can! See it twice!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 22, 2000
This is a great suspense movie with scenes similar to the Hitchcock thrillers of the 60's. Both Harrison Ford and Michelle Pfeifer are superb! Their interaction as husband and wife was very realistic.

From the opening scene, there is a "tension" surrounding the characters and the plot just pulls you in deeper and deeper. This is the type of movie you will want to see again for those "clues" you missed the first time around. See this movie soon!
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 24, 2000
This was a good film, with convincing moments of suspense. However, I thought that Michelle Pfeiffer, for being married to her husband, Harrison Ford, for , I think, 18 years, was kind of naive. The scenes of the apparent haunting were downplayed which was different.

The final few scenes, when her husband finds the truth and tries to stop her, were kind of typical of a thriller. It seemed impossible that she could survive some of them. It didn't have the chemistry between them that Michael Douglas and Glenn Close had in Fatal Attraction. It's a good film to see for those who don't want the typical heavy sexuality, cursing or violence.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 29, 2000
A good suspense thriller not unlike that of Alfred Hitchcock. Great camera angles. Harrison Ford and Michelle Pfeifer do a great job.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 30, 2000
If you love Harrison Ford films.. you will love this!

Does take you for unexpected twists though.. not normal for Ford. Keeps you sitting on your seat but not the "typical scary movie" with the slice and dice unneeded scenes.

MUST SEE!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Aug 7, 2000
This is one of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. The only people who should see it are relatives of the makers of the film..

The two leads did their usual good job, but no one could save this mess. It is like so many other films of this nature. Nothing new is added. The start was intriguing, but it really went nowhere interesting. I couldn't believe it was so bad.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 17, 2000
Excellent excellent movie!! This movie had me grabbing on to my boyfriend's arm almost the whole way through. It was one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time. It had so many unexpected twists in it, which is what made it such a great movie!!!

Go see it tonight!!!!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Aug 20, 2000
What lies beneath looked better in previews than the actual movie portrayed. I think this movie dragged on and on, without mercy. The acting was dull, the action was boring, and quite honestly, I could have gone withouth this.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 23, 2000
This Movie was AWESOME... I will be seeing it again... Once I thought it was over it got me going all over again... This was one of the the most fun movies I have seen all year... Better than "Scream 3"
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Aug 25, 2000
I really wasn't very excited to see this movie. I have seen too many "thrillers" in the past that were BIG let-down's.

But, this movie was AMAZING! The acting was incredible and it kept you BOLTED
to your seat the entire time. This is one you don't want to wait to see on video.

You need the "big screen" to truly appreciate it! BRAVO to the make-up artists!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Sep 17, 2000
i saw this the first week it opened, but forgot to write a review.. so here it is.

i enjoyed this movie.. though some scenes were quite predictable (what movie doesn't have any predictable scenes, though?) there were many times where things would happen and you'd jump out of your seat. i love it when a movie can do that to me.

harrison was great in this movie... and if you're a ford fan, you'll love the movie. see it in the theatre- it's worth it.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Sep 22, 2000
This film wasn't as good as they made it out to be. It seemed like it was dragging on forever, and just when you thought you knew what was going on, it went in a different direction, leaving you scratching your head.

If you can wait the few months it takes to come out on tape, I say do so.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Oct 30, 2000
Very good film with suspence and action, It keeps you thinking and on the edge of your seat.

If you like Michelle Pfeifer, who is a great actress and darn good looking, you got to see it. Harrison ford did a great job too.

But this is one Movie that is better to see on the big screen.
[--- Good ---]by  
Nov 24, 2000
This is definately a "must see now" movie. It was fun to watch, with a good plot, and quite scary for a rated PG-13 movie. My friends and I enjoyed it. To get the full effect, we suggest seeing it on the big screen because the little TV screen wont give the movie the same excitement. Have fun.
Mar 11, 2001
"What Lies Beneath" is a haunting suspence thriller in which a wife, played by Michelle Pfeiffer, notice strange happenings around the house. As she digs deep to undercover the truth, the more terrorfied she gets. Harrison Ford plays the husband who doesn't believe her.
Jul 21, 2003
I expected better, and the fact that Harrison Ford did this and Random Hearts close together didn't help much.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for What Lies Beneath.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook