Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
X-Men
The live-action, big-screen adaptation of the most popular comic book series ever. Outcasts since birth, the X-Men are the next step of human evolution, each born with a unique genetic mutation that...  View more >

Starring Patrick Stewart, Hugh Jackman, Ian McKellen...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 17, 2000
Great movie, lived up to all expectations. Good action, good characters, great sets. I can't wait for the sequel.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 20, 2000
From the comic to the Saturday morning cartoon X-men has captured the little kid in all of us. If you ever found yourself pretending to be super strong or able to shoot lighting from your finger tips you will love this movie.

With fighting styles taken from The Matrix it makes the movie even that much better. I was worried that they were going to make it cheezy, like the made for tv movie called "Generation X" that was on a couple of years ago.

I loved this movie. They made all the powers of each character very cool looking. If you ever played super hero or thought you were different, please go see this movie NOW!!!
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 20, 2000
This movie was fun. Fans of the comic books or animated tv series should enjoy
this film. Casting turned out better than expected, and there was definitely
room for a sequel or few... There were also some unexpected "got'cha" laughs,
which kept the movie from getting too dark.

The special effects were interesting as well. I was with someone who is an X-Men fan and was expecting to be critical of it. Instead this person found it was better than that. We both definitely enjoyed it.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jul 21, 2000
Waste of time, I would rather go to the dentist and get my teeth cleaned then sit thru this stinker.
Jul 23, 2000
I was expecting this to be kind of stupid, but it really rocked!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 24, 2000
You don't even have to be a fan of x-men to enjoy this movie. It was good!
[--- Good ---]by  
Jul 25, 2000
This was a good movie. I read the comic books when I was a kid (back in the 60's) and I feel that the casting was excellent and the characters more true to form than I thought was possible to do.

They say the audiences skew to males under 25 and that maybe so, but I have to to say that I think this movie also certainly appeals to all those comic book fans of the 60's who never thought that their imaginations that were stimulated by reading the comic books could/would ever be able to be projected on a big screen. A dream come true! And well done too!

The plot was good. The writing was good. The special effects were good. Some people complained about the score, but I thought it was average and not at all detrimental to the film. However, although I liked the film, it was not as all impacting to me as I thought it would be. I really believe that my feelings were caused by the fact that there were no real bad guys in the film. Magneto and Xavier are friends, and they have a common goal, but just have different opinions on how to achieve this and this disagreement leads to the conflict in the film. This is supposedly the "good and bad" of the film.

I feel that more than anything that this film is truly a prequell (but good and certainly worth going to the movie theater to see) and that the next X-men will build on this one. This one basically introduced the concept and major players and cast, and now the next X-men now has the foundation to be great. Unlike The Matrix (a truly original, fabulous sci-fi film) the X-men's next movie has a chance to be better. How could The Matrix get better (somewhat similar to The Terminator and Terminator 2. Terminator 2 recycles a lot of the original Terminator and after Terminator is no longer a new concept). All I can hope is the next Matrix is as good as the first (I don't know how it could be better).

In summation, the X-men is not the fabulous, absolutely must see movie (within and of itself) of the summer; however it is very good, and if you don't see this film now, after you see the next one you might have wished you saw this one in the theaters.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jul 31, 2000
Difficult to decide between good and wait for rental.

The FX were GREAT...but it took forever to establish the characters...once they were established, the main plot line moved so fast that when the WIDE OPEN ending came I found myself saying, "That's it?!" What a horrible ending! I can understand wanting a sequel, but I'm willing to bet they will not get all the HIGH BUDGET actors to reappear in another movie.

I chose "wait for rental," that's the safe bet, unless you need that quick action fix - then go. Patrick Stewart's acting as Xavier was very one dimensional I was shocked at such poor character acting by this high profile actor. Halle Barry was terrible as Storm!

The only good actor was "Toad" - who, since he played Darth Maul, pays a little homage to "Phantom Menace" if pay close attention. Looks like this is just another Stan Lee creation that just doesn't transfer to film nicely.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Sep 18, 2000
Excellent movie for fans of X-Men, and for those who have no clue who the Marvel heroes are. Even though a little short for the plot, it is excellent.

And for those of you who are X-Men fans, the sequel already has it's cast, and it is supposed to be quite large. More mutants including everyone's faves such as Beast, Gambit, and even bad guys later turned good such as Archangel.

Excellent movie! A+++!
Jul 21, 2003

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for X-Men.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
News Headlines - Theaters - Movies - Reader Reviews - Movie Links
Your Account - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2022, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook