Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
The X Files: Fight the Future
Agents Scully and Mulder from Fox's hit TV show are on the big screen, looking to uncover the truth about the mysterious bombing of a Dallas office building and the secrets buried inside.

Starring David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, Mitch Pileggi...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
"The movie suckith the plot stinkith don't seeith."

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
FBI Special Agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) Fight the Future in this first X-Files feature film. The story line is complex, so I won't explain it in detail, only breifly outline it for you. The first scene is from 35,000 years B.C where a couple of cave-people discover, in a glacier, a mutated virus which kills them both. Next we arrive in the future where the Feds arrive to "clean up" the dangerous situation. After that, Agents Mulder and Scully, after recently being re-assigned to a terrorist unit at the FBI after the shut-down of the X-Files, must find a bomb hidden inside a Federal Building. Mulder finds the bomb, and Scully evacuates the building. The Special Agent in Charge (SAC) attempts to defuse the bomb, however not in time. A shot similar to the Oaklahoma City bombing is presented. The next shot shows a very NICE picture of FBI Headquarters in Washington, DC. It looks really nice on the big screen, and as most of us know, especially me, that is the real J. Edgar Hoover building that they show. Mulder and Scully are blamed for the accident and the Bureau decides to re-assign Scully to Salt Lake City, in an attempt to break up the pair. The Next scene shows the Well Manaqured Man, the famous Cigarette Smoking man and others from that group who have gathered to discuss the emergency which has presented itself. This is definately an awesome movie! The sound was in DTS and the Photography was pretty good. The Film plays out like an extended eppisode lasting nearly two hours...two hours of X-FUN! Enjoy!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie is every bit what it was advertised for and more. A must see by even the non-X-File tv followers. I will see it again. I was sitting at the edge of my seat literally towards the end of the movie, a real hanger-oner. Even though it is rated for 2 hours, that was the fastest 2 hour movie I have ever been in. Keep up the good work Chris Carter and please never try and replace Mulder or Scully.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Any person who has seen at least one episode of "The X-Files" will no doubt see the movie. We want to know more. We want to know if the truth is out there. I'll admit, I'm not a fan of the series, but after seeing this very exciting movie, I'll admit that I wish I saw more of the shows.

Oh well. You don't have to be an X-phile to see this movie, and before I went in I was afraid that I had had to watch the entire series on TV before I sat down in the cinema to watch it. Not here.

Yet "The X-Files" is a movie you have to see twice. The plot is so gargantuan, even too much plot for my taste, that if you get up and go to the bathroom, you might as well leave. This is unconventional for a summer blockbuster, hell, it takes about half an hour for something to blow up!

Opening in "North Texas" in the prehistoric age, we discover that an alien presence exists under the ground. Cut to the present day of North Texas (keep in mind that "North Texas" was not "North Texas" in prehistoric age, but I guess we HAVE to know where they are), where a kid falls in the same hole and gets attacked by an alien.

Cut to Dallas, where FBI agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson), discover a bomb threat in a Dallas office building. (can anyone say "Oklahoma City?"). The building blows up, and questions arise about whom, or WHAT, created this incident. We soon learn that the bodies are already dead!! Uh-oh! Could it be....?

Actually, I should really leave it there, since I saw the movie without watching many previews and I was very surprised by the half. What I liked about "The X-Files" is that the people actually talk...there aren't a terrible lot of action scenes. I like how people actually sit down and talk in this movie, especially in the wonderful scene in which Mulder gets drunk at a bar and explains to the bartender his story of his job.

Drama wise, the movie sort of stalls. True, these people talk a lot, but a romantic subplot is quickly tossed out and the ending sure leaves a lot to be desired. (Though it is resolved very well)

But the movie is loads of fun, I was always hooked into the movie rather than being outside it and constantly drifting. That happened to me all throughout "Godzilla". Here's the remedy.

Grade: B+

Tech Review

Picture: 3 An ok picture for the first half, but it dissolves into 16mm the second half. Watch the grain in the last half hour, the picture on "Chasing Amy" was better.

Sound: 4.5 A powerful dts mix with thunderous bass and ambient split surround effects. Dialouge is clear, however the music score is too harsh.

Photography: 5 A bang up job in Super 35 by director Rob Bowman; watch closely and you may notice a lot of matte bars at the top of the screen (small black bars), the same thing happened with "Independence Day". However, it doesn't draw away from the grand visual impact.

Length: 121 minutes. 20th Century Fox. jwhyte2@hotmail.com ICQ-4339199.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
As a fan of the show, I thought the movie rocked.

A non-fan may be confused by some of the characters, because the film does nothing special to "introduce" the characters that fans of the show will know. The same is true for some of the finer plot intricacies, but the overall plot is fairly clear.



[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought the movie started out great!, but as the movie lingered on the story just kept getting more confusing. I left the theater wondering just what the cover up was all about, and i have a degree in biotechnology. I believe they should have gone into a bit more detail about the secret government operation! Thats all i can tell u without spoiling the movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
All I can say is if you are a fan, its a must see awesome movie.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The movie is very much like the television episodes--generally entertaining, but uneven. A bit more humor is included in this movie than in the usual X-file show, and the writing is a bit more clever than the average tv episode. There are some details that make one wince--the opening sequence of neanderthal like individuals roaming a glacier in north Texas 35,0000 years ago is poorly thought out, the fact that Scully can look at a 35,000 year old scrap of bone and deduce that a virus had killed the individual is bizarre, winter weather in Antarctica is *much* more cold and stormy than the apparantly pleasant coolness experienced by our hero and heroine, and so on and so on.....however, if we can overlook these lapses (which are no worse than the ones seen in any weekly show) its a good, tense, story.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The X-Files (1998)

This was an interesting movie. I never really watched the TV series, but I learned the background from an article in Newsweek. The movie was pretty well made. It was exciting and suspenseful. About my only complaint was the Oklahoma City-like bombing in the beginning, which was tacky. Also, they should have introduced the characters a bit more for those who don't watch the show. Other than that, it was good. The special effects were wonderful, but they didn't go overboard on action. The acting was pretty good, and the screenplay wasn't half-bad. Bottom line: See it. The truth is out there.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
The X-Files (1998) ***1/2 out of 5

Although the first shots of THE X-FILES are corny (c'mon, a location title that reads "North Texas, 35,000 B.C."?), director Rob Bowman shows solid work in most other aspects of the film.

One likable side of the film is acting. Perhaps because I have seen probably half a season's worth of shows throughout the run of the series, I was not used to David Duchovny's deadpan looks. I enjoyed his character's own reference to this stoicism, and soon got used to Fox Mulder's tendency to display emotion through actions rather than facial expressions. Conversely, Gillian Anderson's Dana Scully - though governed by cold logic - often seems more emotionally reactive. A certain glossiness about her looks in the film bothered me, the gloss extending to her eyes, as though she experienced discomfort with contacts or with tears of frustration about to spill at any second. Applause to the director and make-up people, who give Scully's cheeks broken blood vessels late in the film, after an ordeal that surely would have caused them. On the whole, Mulder and Scully exploit well their level of comfort, after several years of interacting.

Layers of conspiracy lie at the center of the plot, and the aging white males cast as the conspirators turn in believable if humorless performances. Armin Mueller-Stahl plays Conrad Strughold, apparently the highest-ranking conspirator (operating beyond the ken and control of the FBI), does not get a great deal of screen time. But he is very good at using his scowl and his accent to portray a sinister secrecy. Martin Landau plays Dr Alvin Kurtzweil, who is himself the victim of conspiracies -- attempts to frame him and, no doubt, discredit his way-out-there writings. Kurtzweil has to scramble to convince even Mulder of his credibility. To me, the most incredible side of Landau's character is his wandering the dark alleys, unarmed, wanted by at least the local police, behind the bar in which he meets Mulder. William B. Davis's "cigarette-smoking man" plays the main heavy here- - besides the aliens themselves. What confuses me about his motivation is that, despite countless reasons to rub out Mulder, he and his secret agency keep letting the tireless G-man get away.

The sets and special effects are grand in THE X-FILES. "Grand" in the old meaning of the word -- full of wonder and modesty, like the behavior of an honorable person. I did find the bomb-sheared office building tacky -- too close to a re-enactment of Oklahoma City. But other catastrophes, afflictions and icky creatures find their ways seamlessly into the narrative. The implosion of the tundra -given away too much in trailers -- is a superb computer creation that is edited with both patience and skill. Remarkable illusions are created with the large sets and their gruesome inhabitants in subterranean Antarctica.

Mark Snow's music frequently lends suspense at the right places, though it seems a red-herring when the notes cut in as Mulder glances behind a soda machine that has cheated him out of his change. Some fast-paced pieces seem too densely New Age, layered as thickly as suspicions in viewers' minds.

The script, by Chris Carter and Frank Spotnitz, nicely sets alarms that go off later in the film at crucial times, including a joke from Scully just after she is resuscitated by Mulder. In a way that I don't believe would insult die-hard fans of the series, we are informed about the backgrounds, quirks and quests of the main characters. Just from the hype surrounding the movie I learned enough - Scully's return to faith, for instance -- to help me chip away at plot twists.

I would rate THE X-FILES as a satisfying and intelligent story, though it should not be mistaken for an important film. A question I have for X-philes is, Why are some of you displeased over an ending that screams SEQUEL?

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It was the best movie I ever saw.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
X Files was a very bad movie I don't think that PG-13 is a very good rating on the movie it should have been rated R. When I herad the reviews from other people I now I heard that their were a lot of little kids who where very sarced. I know there are other movies for those kids but that's not the point. Adults may like this gor but I don't think that little kids should be seeing this. As I rate this movies as a 1 star movies baecuse how bad it was. If I were you I wouldn't take you're kids to see or try a better movie like The Odd Couple 2 or Dr. Dolittle. This is just my review. Have a great un x files day!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. It attractes people who have never seen the X-Files and it attraces x-philes. I thought the whole thing with the corn fields and the bees was confusing, but thats ok. It is a movie that you have to think about to understand.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Well X-files was the best movie of the summer for me so far. It had more plot than the Truman Show (what did happen there anyway) and more actual suspense than armageddon, for all the effects in that movie.

Having watched the TV series, read the book and now seen the film I think I'm closer to understanding what is going on in the world of the X-files. I was wondering over the last couple of seasons if Chris Carter actually knew himself, but now I guess he does.

Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny do what they do so well in the series, keep the plot moving along, play their characters (well they've had enough practice) and keep not quite getting together.

The script, while definitely from the same mould as the series keeps unfolding for 2 hours and, as the movie moves on we find more about the long discussed conspiracy than we ever have before.

The effects are good and well blended into the action and I never lost interest for a moment in the story.

If you aren't a regular TV show viewer you probably aren't going to see this movie anyway, and if you do I would think you'd be a bit confused. Knowing who all the characters are and what it is they are looking for helps, although Mulder does 'introduce himself' in a bar scene quite subtely. If
you are a TV series viewer, this film will answer some of the questions that they never seem to get round to in one hour..

Jan 25, 2000
A movie based on a currently running TV Series. Doesn't happen too often, and when it does, are the results generally this good? I think not.

I am a fan of the TV Series, I've watched the show since its debut. I'm not an extra huge fan of the show though. I don't read the X Files newsgroups, or participate in any extra X Files activities. I just find the show interesting.

So, now we pick everyone from the TV show up, and plop them onto the big screen.

The movie picks up where the season finale left off. The "X Files", a set of unsolved crimes and mysteries in the FBI, have been closed down.

The main characters, Mulder (David Duchovny) and Scully (Gillian Anderson) are FBI agents, previously assigned to investigate these "X Files". Now, without the "X Files" to work on, they have been assigned normal FBI duties. This includes dealing with terrorist acts, etc...

They are in Dallas to deal with a bomb threat at a federal building when Mulder has a "feeling". He and Scully go chasing after this "feeling", and wind up smack in the middle of a big mess.

A bomb goes off, people are killed. But are they really killed by the bomb blast? Ahhh, this is where Mulder and Scully are at their best.

The movie goes on to explain far more about certain goings on, than the TV Series ever did. The scenes are bigger, and the plot a bit more involved. It all comes out on the big screen, and it works well.

Don't feel as though you need to have seen the TV Series in order to enjoy this film. There is plenty of suspense, action, and intrigue to keep everyone's eyes glued to the screen.

Does this movie answer all of the questions? No, it does not. If it did, what fun would that be? (grin)

Copyright 1998 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
A smart and worthy movie based on the television show; this movie lived up to my expectations and more. You'll never guess the truth, but you'll recognize the references if you are a fan of the show. If you have not seen the show, the movie does a fairly well job of presenting the characters. It has all of the comedic-seriousness that makes the show so special.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought this movie was ok. There was definitely a lot of gore for a PG-13 movie. I saw a lot of kids in the movie theatre going to see it when I was, and a lot of them left the movie scared half to death. I would not recommend you have any young kids (like under 14) going to see this movie. I know for sure that there are a lot of better movies out for kids and more appropriate ones. Thanks for reading my review.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This was a great movie. Even the first part was even suspenseful. You didn't even need to follow the TV series to follow it. It was a great scary, suspenseful movie. It is not appropriate for children 8 and under. It had nonstop mystery and action. The plot was excellent and the special effects were great. There were also funny parts here and there. Over all it was a great movie. I thought it was Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny's best performance ever. This movie is 4 stars out of 4.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
As an X-phile myself, I enjoyed the movie. I believe that even non-fans of the TV show will enjoy the movie. Lots of suspense and good acting.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
After seeing The X FIles: Fight The Future, all I wanna know is... is THAT it??? Does it end here, or are there more episodes or another movie. Because what I saw in that theater was wholly dissapointing in terms of what the final to anything should be.

I have watched the series from the start and have most of them on tape, so I consider myself a fan. But I don't think I'll go back and see it again, just too boring to sit through that government cover-up crap, and know that it won't get anywhere... again. Watching this was just like watching an episode of the show (in terms of plot), ie. it ends more-or-less where it began. I thought that there might be a reason for such a crap ending to the series, like, maybe finding out something worthwhile in the movie. But that was not to be.

I loved everything ELSE about the movie; acting, specialFX, sound, sets, action. But it did get a little frustrating as the plot grew more confusing, but the series did that worse anyway, so I just went along with it.

I thought that bombing bit at the start was cool. Probably only added as a means to interest action fans. I mean, without that, they wouldn't have had any LARGE explosions in the whole movie (I think). It would have seemed too much like the series (Just wussy car bombs etc).

To all fans of the show, you have to see this. I don't think there's any debate over that. To anyone else, it's still worth seeing, if not for anything else but the cool escape from the big place in Antarctica.

I still want to know. Is that it? Because if there's even a plan for an X Files (movie/series) then all that is negative about what I've just said becomes null and void.

May 12, 2003
The film is called the X-Files:Fight the Future." It is based on the TV series of the same name. The story is about two agents who are tracking down some abnormal activity. This film is no exception. The two agents found out that an alien race could hold key to the future of mankind. Well-written and scary. I'm not much of a fan of the show, but I'm a fan of the feature film version.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The X Files: Fight the Future.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook