Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
You've Got Mail
In this Sleepless in Seattle followup, Joe Fox (Tom Hanks) and Kathleen Kelly (Meg Ryan) find themselves confiding everything to their unseen computer correspondent -- everything except their actual...  View more >

Starring Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Greg Kinnear

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 25, 2000
Remember Sleepless in Seattle? Meg Ryan, Tom Hanks, and writer/director Nora Ephron make a return trip for this remake of the 1940 film The Shop Around the Corner that starred James Stewart.

This is a story about two people from New York city that only know each other by E-Mail. They don't know each others names, they don't know what the other does for a living. They just have a friendship that has blossomed via E-Mail communications.

Meg Ryan is Kathleen Kelly, owner of a quaint little childrens bookstore that has been in her family for years.

Tom Hanks is Joe Fox, part of the "Fox and Sons" mega bookstore chain that is opening a new location, just around the corner from Kathleen Kelly's shop.

Of course there is trouble in the air with the Fox bookstore looking to put the little independent shop out of business. Joe and Kathleen meet, they hate each other for obvious reasons. Little do they know that the other is the person that they adore in E-Mail.

Joe and Kathleen give each other advice on how to deal with these "bad people" they have met, without knowing that they are giving advice on how to deal with each other!

Parker Posey, Jean Stapleton, and Greg Kinnear all star in supporting roles, and I thought they all played their parts magnificently.

Sure the formula for this film is simple and straightforward. You always know what is going to happen next. Does that make it a bad movie? In my opinion, no. Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan do a fantastic job with their roles. You completely buy into their characters and dilemmas.

The only reason I didn't rate this movie a "See Now" was that you really don't need to be in a movie theater to enjoy the story. I predict that this movie will do well in the cinemas, and at home once it's released on video.

For you guys out there, consider this one a good "date movie".

Copyright 1998 - Ron Higgins No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I thought this movie was really cute. Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks did a relly good job in the characters they played. Although the plot was not very "deep" the movie was still fun and enjoyable to watch. I would recomend seeing this movie some time soon.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
You've Got Mail is a "feel good" movie to see. The movie has a story line, as well as, romance. Both Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks portray a realistic view of relationships, however, the possibilities of dangers of internet relationships is not explained. It is not in-depth or thought-provoking, but still good.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Okay, so there was no such thing as e-mail when "Shop Around the Corner" was released in 1940. The internet obviously offers a more immediate form of communication than letter writing. So what else can this remake offer to throw a new spin on a classic James Stewart movie? The performances and writing are very good, Meg Ryan doing a better job than Tom Hanks (who seems at times a bit stiff). My favorite performance was a supporting role by the wonderful Jean Stapleton, who has but a dozen or so lines but makes the most of them. The end does drag out a bit and I think a character as smart as RyanÂ’s would catch on faster than she does. But these are minor gripes in what is a fun, feel good movie.

10-point scale rating: 7

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie succeeds because it doesn't pretend to be more than it is. It is a romantic comedy, and a very good one. It is rare for me to see a movie about which I have no complaints. But I really have none about "You've Got Mail." They even treat using the internet (or at least emails) realistically, aside from the amazing speed with which they could dial in to AOL, make a connection, and access their mail. The dialog was good, the story was believable, and the actions of the characters made sense. You would think these would be the basic requirements for any movie, but more often than not, in my opinion, movies have some glaring error or incongruity that nearly ruins the experience for me.

I must say that what made this movie even better for me was the music. I hope this will start some craze for the amazing work of the late Harry Nilsson. Throw in a little Randy Newman, Stevie Wonder, and references to Joni Mitchell (why couldn't we HEAR "River" rather than them just talking about it?), and you have a great soundtrack. Pay attention to the music and you will enjoy the movie even more.

Go see this movie. Expect to be entertained, not educated or enlightened, and you won't be disappointed.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I am 9 yrs old, and I like this movie because it has a lot of feelings. If you only like scary movies you should not go to see it. But if you asked me I would say I loved it and you sould see it soon!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This is the best movie I have seen for entertainment. It is a "feel good" kind of movie which is the kind I like to see. After working all week in the real world, there is nothing better than seeing a movie like this. Meg Ryan is great. Tom Hanks is good but others could have played the part as well. I commend the writers for not feeling like they had to include sex, foul language or violence to make it sell.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I really enjoyed "You've Got Mail". Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are A+ in my book. I will definately watch this movie again and again.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I absolutely loved this movie! I did not get to see "Sleeping in Seattle" when it was in theatres, but I did make it a point watch it on TV after seeing "you've Ggt Mail". Tom Hanks is a remarkable actor with amazing talent, and Meg Ryan is also one of my favorites. Go see this movie, it's a great love story with a happy ending.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
It's a good movie except its kind of lengthy and is very predictable.I think that this is one of those movies that I would just die to see.It would be better if you got it on rental because it can get boring!It also was funny, and I enjoyed the parts that weren't boring.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
You've got Mail is going to be an American Classic. It's the love story of the Nineties along with "Sleepless in Seatle". I'd have to put it in the same class as such greats as "A Love Story" and "When Harry met Sally". This is a must to see with the one you love. It's not really for kids, they'd probably be bored, but if you're at all romantic you'll love it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Everyone thought that this would be a 'Sleepless in Seattle II" but it was so different and wonderful I have already seen it three times.

I liked it even better than 'Sleepless'.

What more can I say.

The film was wonderful. Can't wait to add this to my home collection.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Yes, this is a good romance and lots of fun, but I think I should have waited for it to play at the value theater or rent it later. Meg Ryan is adorable as always and Tom Hanks is our modern-day Jimmy Stewart, but I felt the movie lacked something that I can't quite put into words. If you're looking for a predictable no-brainer that makes you feel good, then this might be the movie to see.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
For a sweet, funny, feel good movie, this one is hard to beat. The acting was first rate, both from Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks as well as Jean Stapleton, Greg Kinnear and all the other supporting actors.

Sure, it's a little predictable, but I almost guarantee you'll leave the theater smiling and feeling a little better about humankind.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Just saw this movie tonight It's GREAT!!! a must see.

Jan 25, 2000
First of all...I loved this film. Okay, I know everyone is saying, "can you say Sleepless in Seattle"...well yes I can. Can you say, Spencer Tracy and Kate Hepburn? If the movie duo of the 60s can make numerous successful films playing similar roles, then so can Hanks and Ryan. Quite simply, this film was just great. I enjoyed every moment of it. I think Hanks played a great character who never lost his sarcastic wit, but gained a bit of charm. Meg Ryan was...well, Meg Ryan. This film is for everyone. Whether you see it in the theater or at home, just see it. Bottom line...while I felt like I was watching an AOL commercial at times, I was still able to receive the message quite clearly.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
This movie was an advertisement for AOL and New York wrapped into one. Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are fun to watch when they are together on the screen. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
the pairing of hanks and ryan is on par with great couplings of the past. tracy & hepburn, lemmon & matthau. that alone should bring you into the theater for a fun filled, heartwarming comedy that is a little loose on its story line. don't buy candy...its sweet enough.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
I think this movie is great , it's abaut a man and a woman who met by an internet chat and haven't met in real life , in real life they hate each other but afterwards they get to know each other, I think this could really happen because internet is a good way to meet people and maybe fall in love with them ..... I hope everybody sees it and could have the same opinion.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
If you are over 30, and in desperate need of a boyfriend, and wanna get musshy, then yeaah, go a head and watch this STINKY movie. It is very CORNY + CHEESY!!! There is no point to the story, you can easily guess what is going to happen next. DON'T RENT it either, it is a waist of money. If you are looking for romance action, uh uh you ain't gonna find it, they only kissed once!

[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 25, 2000
Another great job by the Hanks and Ryan duo. This is they're second film together and they do a very commendable job. But, there are problems with this movie. First of all I really didn't feel the kind of magic that I felt when I saw them in Sleepless In Seattle. So, I can't give this film a "MUST SEE." I don't know if the chemistry wasn't right for them for this particular movie. But, they did give a good try and the movie is enjoyable.

Even though Hanks and Ryan are trying, I can't put them in the same chemistry bracket of Bogey and Bacall or Tracy and Hepburn or Hudson and Day or even Abbott and Costello.

** 1/2

May 12, 2003
"You've Got Mail" is a 1940 remake of "The Shop Around the Corner." The film stars Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan as two people who dislike each other. One (Hanks) is running a mega book store, while the other (Ryan) is running a small bookstore that's being theatened by the mega bookstore. One of the best movies of the year, the film has twist and turns and the chemistry between Hanks and Ryan is fresh. More fresh than "Sleepless in Seattle" because those two had more screen time together. "You've got Mail" is romantic comedy at it's best.
Jul 21, 2003

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for You've Got Mail.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook