Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Collateral
Academy Award® Nominee
A cab driver in New York discovers his all-night fare is a hired assassin making his rounds.

Starring Tom Cruise, Jamie Foxx, Jada Pinkett Smith...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 7, 2004
It had some good moments both humor and suspense, but overall it was almost a wait for the rental. It just didn't do it.
Aug 10, 2004
An OK movie, but not great. Had some exciting moments but nothing unusual. Tom Cruise did a good job. For the money, Village is a much better movie.
Aug 13, 2004
Outstanding movie. One of the better movies this year.
Aug 17, 2004
Good movie. Good acting by all. Good story. Overall very good flick
Aug 17, 2004
The look is "Boyz N the Hood" meets "Blade Runner"; and the conflict of the piece is accordingly between Los Angeles as gemeinschaft vs. Los Angeles as gesellschaft. Foxx believes in community, but Cruise believes that we all live disconnected from one another. The director, Michael Mann, is excellent with the action sequences and visuals. There is a startlingly poetic moment involving coyotes crossing the street. But the third act is dreadful, reducing the material to a prolonged chase scene full of all the usual cliches. It's entertaining, but reads in very simplistic terms of good and evil, whereas the rest of the film was looking at a far more interesting and complex dichotomy. The third act is so bad that it reminds me of that of "Adaptation". It makes me feel a little embarassed for recommending the film. Still, this isn't at all a wash. The ending acts as a premature conclusion instead of an ink that dirties everything that came before it (i.e. the Village). There is still much here worth discussing in other words.
Aug 21, 2004
There are some flaws, but a very good movie. Solid acting all around.
Aug 25, 2004
Very good movie. It's tough. I enjoyed watching Tom Cruise as the bad guy. I liked the gray hair on him. See it soon.
Oct 11, 2004
A well-paced action movie that shows two strong performances from Jamie Foxx and Tom Cruise.

While you would expect Tom Cruise to deliver, he does so in a manner that is less over-the-top than most of his roles. While it's kind of disturbing to realize that the same guy who was dancing in his underwear and getting into trouble while his parents were gone is now playing a greying cold-hearted killer, he plays his character well without overshadowing his co-star.

That co-star is Jamie Foxx, an actor that I haven't seen before, even though his name was familiar. (Running through his filmography on the IMDb yielded no matches to movies or shows I've seen) Foxx did a great job as a guy caught in the wrong situation, but who doesn't completely fold under pressure.

This movie is worth the price of admission and concessions, but if you don't get to see it in the theater, I think the experience at home in the right environment would be just as pleasing.
Jun 7, 2011
Tom Cruise plays a different but dark role as a hitman who takes over a cab and the driver, played by Jamie Foxx in this scary thriller about a cab ride though the dirty streets of LA. I like the performers from Crusie and Foxx. Not only does Cruise takes Foxx for a ride, we went along with them though the dirty streets of the city.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Collateral.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook