Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol
Blamed for the terrorist bombing of the Kremlin, IMF operative Ethan Hunt is disavowed along with the rest of the agency when the President initiates "Ghost Protocol". Left without any resources...  View more >

Starring Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 22, 2011
The best Mission Impossibe since the first Mission Impossible. This foourth Mission Impossible has made up for the shortcomings of the last two films in the series. With help from Bad Robot Production, it has pumped fresh blood back into a series that considered dead long ago. Tom Cruise can take up a lot of tasks that no actor would ever dare to do. in this movie. One inwhich he climb the side of Burj Khalite in Dubai, the tallest building in the world. That scene alone has kept me on the edge of my seat. Tom and his crew must find the person who took nucleur codes to start a nuclear war. One of the most exciting action adventures movie in months.
Dec 26, 2011
Dec 27, 2011
Full of action and great plot! Tom Cruise doesn't seem to slow down one beat with father time!
Dec 28, 2011
Tom Cruise may be crazy, but he still makes some great movies. The best Mission Impossible since the first, fun and slick with good action and humor.
Jan 4, 2012
I liked this movie but I think it was quite over-rated recently. It contained very much of the drama effects one has come to expect from these MI films. I still like Cruise and he delivers here as always but I'm getting tired of weak story with monotinous action sequence variations. I kept losing track of why the scene changed from one locale to another....seemed like it was just done for effect and not to compliment the story line. Some of the action scenes were quite boring. Some theather goers even left for more snacks during actions. All theather goers rushed out of movie as it was ending as if they were very glad to be done with this boring movie.
Jan 5, 2012
It was an Ok movie, but for me very close to wait for the rental. Lots of action, maybe too much as it became boring at times.
Jan 22, 2012
Mission Impossible 3 remains my favorite in the series, but #4 (Ghost Protocol) does a decent job of continuing the story and delivering on the Mission Impossible staples of death-and-gravity-defying stunts, exotic locations, and Tom Cruise running.

One improvement over all the other movies in the series is that this was much more about the team, and not all about Tom Cruise. The opening scene in the prison, which was excellently choreographed to Dean Martin's "Ain't that a Kick in the Head" was great, and it couldn't have been done by just Tom Cruise peeling face masks, using explosive bubble gum, and smirking at the bad guys.

A big weakness is the inclusion of Paula Patton on the team. While Simon Pegg was a welcome returning character, the ever-present Ving Rhames was notably absent, and the radiant Michelle Monaghan from MI3 was also missing from the cast. To fill in the gaps was Jeremy Renner and Paula Patton. Renner does a good job of being a team member and it almost seems that the producers might be grooming him for a larger role in future MI movies.

Patton, however, is by far the weakest link. She is given a role in which she needs to exude class, style, and sultry allure, as well as be able to kick some butt when called for, but she never seems comfortable doing any of it. There a few scenes where she seems to settle in, like in the bar when she is talking with Cruise and Anil Kapoor's prince character, but otherwise, she just seems to be going through the paces. Thandie Newton nailed her role in MI2, and while she couldn't have handled the butt-kicking part of Patton's role, she ran circles around Patton in the other aspects.

While the skyscraper scenes in IMAX (which were filmed with IMAX cameras) were very good, they didn't have the same tension or danger that was present at the beginning of either MI2 or MI3. Seeing Cruise dangle from the rock he was climbing in the beginning of MI2 or the airplane scene at the beginning of MI3 were incredibly done, and nothing in MI4 quite seemed to match.

As far as villains go, no one is ever going to match the ferocity and imminent danger portrayed by Philip Seymour Hoffman. His Owen Davian could take MI4's Kurt Hendricks and show him a thing or two about being a villain worthy of the Mission Impossible team's attention.

These are minor nitpicks, though, and not enough to bring the movie down a notch in the ratings.

For being the fourth movie in a series, this movie could have stunk up the theater, and it didn't. It delivered on almost every count with success, and the way it ended was very well done. I very much appreciated the tie-in to the previous movie's characters, and it set the stage for another installment in the future.

If you liked the Mission Impossible movies, you'll like Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol. I liked it, just not as much as MI3, but probably more than the first two.
Jul 9, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2019, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook