Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
2011 Academy Award Winners - By Category

Posted on Monday, February 28th, 2011 2:00 PM

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

Related Movies/Theaters
Reader Comments
Reader Voice
No comments found. Be the First!
Add Your Comments
Recent News Headlines Articles

More News Headlines Articles
Journal Main Page
Subscribe to Journal RSS feeds

Oscars posterThe 83rd Academy Awards Ceremony was held Sunday, February 27, 2011, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, California. The event was broadcast live on ABC beginning at 5pm PT/8pm ET. The ceremony was hosted this year by Anne Hathaway and James Franco.

Academy members from each of the branches voted to determine the nominees in their respective categories – actors nominate actors, film editors nominate film editors, etc. In the Animated Feature Film and Foreign Language Film categories, nominations are selected by vote of multi-branch screening committees.

All voting members were eligible to select the Best Picture nominees. This is the second year to have 10 nominees instead of the five that were nominated previous to 2009.

Many of the nominated movies are still in theaters, or will be making a return visit as a result of winning, so it's not too late to see them for yourself on the big screen!

Quite a few of them are also available on Blu-ray and DVD. To find a winner or nominee on home video, please visit Oscar Central on Amazon.com

Click on the movie title to view the information and showtimes (if available) for each movie, or you can check out our Academy Award® Winners and Nominees page in Now Showing.

The nominees and winners are listed below by the category of their nomination.

Performance by an actor in a leading role

Performance by an actor in a supporting role

Performance by an actress in a leading role

Performance by an actress in a supporting role

Best motion picture of the year

  • Winner - The King's Speech
    Iain Canning, Emile Sherman and Gareth Unwin, Producers
  • Black Swan
    Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver and Scott Franklin, Producers
  • The Fighter
    David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman and Mark Wahlberg, Producers
  • Inception 
    Emma Thomas and Christopher Nolan, Producers
  • The Kids Are All Right
    Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte and Celine Rattray, Producers
  • 127 Hours
    Christian Colson, Danny Boyle and John Smithson, Producers
  • The Social Network
    Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca and Ceán Chaffin, Producers
  • Toy Story 3
    Darla K. Anderson, Producer
  • True Grit
    Scott Rudin, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, Producers
  • Winter's Bone
    Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin, Producers

Best animated feature film of the year

Achievement in art direction

Achievement in cinematography

Achievement in costume design

Achievement in directing

Best documentary feature

Best documentary short subject

Achievement in film editing

Best foreign language film of the year

Achievement in makeup

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)

  • Winner - "We Belong Together" from Toy Story 3
    Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
  • "Coming Home" from Country Strong
    Music and Lyric by Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey
  • "I See the Light" from Tangled
    Music by Alan Menken, Lyric by Glenn Slater
  • "If I Rise" from 127 Hours
    Music by A.R. Rahman, Lyric by Dido and Rollo Armstrong

Best animated short film

  • Winner - The Lost Thing - Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann
  • Day & Night - Teddy Newton
  • The Gruffalo - Jakob Schuh and Max Lang
  • Let's Pollute - Geefwee Boedoe
  • Madagascar, carnet de voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary) - Bastien Dubois

Best live action short film

  • Winner - God of Love - Luke Matheny
  • The Confession - Tanel Toom
  • The Crush - Michael Creagh
  • Na Wewe - Ivan Goldschmidt
  • Wish 143 - Ian Barnes and Samantha Waite

Achievement in sound editing

Achievement in sound mixing

  • Winner - Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo and Ed Novick - Inception 
  • Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen and John Midgley - The King's Speech
  • Jeffrey J. Haboush, Greg P. Russell, Scott Millan and William Sarokin - Salt 
  • Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick and Mark Weingarten - The Social Network
  • Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland - True Grit

Achievement in visual effects

Adapted screenplay

  • Winner - The Social Network - Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
  • 127 Hours - Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy
  • Toy Story 3 - Screenplay by Michael Arndt, Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit - Written for the screen by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • Winter's Bone - Adapted for the screen by Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini

Original screenplay

Add Your Comments

Reader VoiceReader Comments

No comments found. Be the first and let us know what you think!

Add Your Comments

Warning: Please login
Commenting on Journal Articles is available only to our readers who have customized this site, which makes it easier for you to complete the form and for us to contact you with any questions or concerns about your comments.

Please login or register a new account before continuing.

Already Registered?

Log in to retrieve your saved settings.

E-Mail Address:
BigScreen Passcode:

Forget Your Passcode?

Send My Passcode To Me

Not Registered? Create a New Account!

E-Mail Address
In case we need to contact you. A valid E-Mail address is required, profiles with invalid addresses will be removed.
Please Confirm Your E-Mail Address
ZIP Code
This helps us display theaters that are near you.

Our registered members enjoy more features, including:

Basic accounts are free -- sign up today!

Concerned About Privacy?

So are we! We won't sell, trade, or share your personal information with anyone unless required by law. For more information, please read our Privacy Policy.

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2018, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook